SAFTA Nominations 2018!

Friday Safta held a breakfast shandis for Nominations, we were not there and here are the nominations:

Best Actress TV Drama category is best tough shem, we are torn here but one thing for certain we’re not giving this one to Zola Nombona. now we have Thuso Mbedu and Masasa Mbangeni to choose from… mmmhhh Thuso is new and young though making big waves we will have to go for Masasa Mbangeni.

Best Supporting actress TV Drama, Tina Jaxa, No doubt!

Best Supporting Actress TV Soap/Telenovela: mmmhh we will let this one pass, Good Luck to the nominees.

  • Zimkhitha Nyoka
  • Mapula Mafole
  • Tarryn Lamb.

Best Actor TV Soap/Telenovela: Strong opponents Siyabonga Thwala, Hamilton Dhlamini and Mpho Sebeng. We’re tired of Siyabonga Thwala winning Best Actor, We give this one to Hamilton Dhlamini.

Best Actress TV Soap/Telenovela:

  • Ja-Anne Reyneke,
  • Kgomotso Christopher
  • and Denise Newman. Who do you choose?

Best Achievement in Art/Production Design TV Soap:

  • Isibaya,
  • Isithembiso
  • and The Queen.

Best Achievement in Wardrobe Make-up & Hairstyling:

  • Isibaya,
  • Isithembiso
  • and Broken Vows.

Best Achievement in Cinematography:

  • High Rollers,
  • Ring of Lies
  • and The Queen.

Best Achievement in Post Production TV Soap/Telenovela:

  • High Rollers
  • Isibaya
  • Ring of lies.

Best Achievement in Original Music/Score:

  • Isithembiso
  • Ring of Lies
  • The Queen.

Best Achievement in Script-writing:

  • High Rollers.
  • Isibaya.
  • Suidooster.

Best Achievement in Directing TV/Soap:

  • Gold Diggers
  • High Rollers
  • Isibaya.

Best TV Comedy:

  • Hotel.
  • Puppet Nation ZA.
  • Suzelle DIY.


Best Supporting Actor TV Comedy:

  • Schalk Bezhuidenhout
  • Trevor Gumbi.
  • Warren Masemola.

Best Supporting Actress TV Comedy:

  • Carien Botha.
  • Franci Swanepoel.
  • Linda Sebezo.

Best Actor TV Comedy:

  • Mandla Gaduka.
  • James Borthwick.
  • Rea Rangaka.

Best Actress TV Comedy:

  • Carine Rous
  • Simone Nortman
  • Julia Anastasopoulos

Best Achievement in Editing:

  • Puppet Nation ZA
  • Ses’ Top La 4
  • Suzelle DIY

Best Achievement in Cinematography TV Comedy:

  • Phil 101
  • Puppet Nation ZA
  • Suzelle DIY

Best Achievement in Sound Design TV Comedy:

  • Guateng Maboneng.
  • Phil 101
  • Puppet Nation ZA.

Best Achievement in Wardrobe/Costume Design:

  • Elke Skwew Pot.
  • Hotel.
  • Puppet Nation ZA

Best Achievement in Art/Production Design:

  • Puppet Nation ZA.
  • Ses’ Top La
  • Thuli no Thulani.

Best Achievement in Directing TV Comedy:

  • Hotel.
  • Puppet Nation ZA.
  • Ses Top La.

Best Short Film:

  • Apocalypse Now Now.
  • The Hangman.
  • Vlees van my vlees.

Best Youth Programme – Non Fiction:

  • 100% Youth Bicycle Stokvel.
  • MTV Shuga- Down South.
  • MTV Shuga – In Real Life.

Best Talk Show- Non Fiction:

  • Jou Storie Met Nina.
  • Mooi
  • Republiek van Zoid Afrika.

Best Talk Show Host Non-Fiction:

  • Pabi Moloi
  • Masechaba Ndlovu
  • Karen Zoid.

Best Music Show- Non Fiction:

  • Gospel Avenue.
  • It’s Gospel Time
  • Starlight Classics.

Best Achievement in Directing- Feature Film:

  • Inxeba (The Wound).
  • Kalushi.
  • Vaya.

Best Micro Budget Film non-fiction:

  • New Era Sessions.
  • Shadow.
  • She conquered – Victim of abuse.

Best Achievement in Script-writing- Feature film:

  • Inxeba (The Wound).
  • Johnny is nie dood nie.
  • Vaya.

Best Achievement in Cinematography:

  • Beyond The River.
  • Johnny is nie dood nie.
  • From a house on Willow Street.

Best Achievement in Sound Design:- Feature Film:

  • From a house on willow street.
  • Kalushi.
  • Siembamba.

Best Achievement in Original Music/Score Feature Film:

  • Kalushi.
  • Vaselinetjie.
  • Vuil Wasgoed.

Best Achievement in editing- Feature Film:

  • Beyond the River.
  • Inxeba (The Wound).
  • Liewe Kersfeesvader.

Best Achievement in Production Design – Feature Film:

  • Johnny is nie dood nie.
  • Kalushi.
  • Vaselinetjie.

Best Achievement in Costume Design – Feature Film:

  • Inxeba (The Wound).
  • Kalushi.
  • Krotoa.

Best Achievement in Make-up & Hairstyling:

  • From a house on willow street.
  • Kalushi.
  • Nul Is nie niks nie.


Best Actress presented by McCafe – Feature Film.:

  • Crystal-Donna Roberts.
  • Rein Swart.
  • Zimkhitha Nyoka.

Best Actor presented by McCafe – Feature Film:

  • Grant Swanby.
  • Nakhane Mahlakahlaka.
  • Sihle Xaba.

Best Supporting Actress Feature Film:

  • Ilana Cilliers.
  • Nomonde Mbusi.
  • Roeline Daneel.

Best Supporting Actor Feature Film:

  • Bongile Mantsai.
  • Niza Ncoyini.
  • Warren Masemola.

Best Feature Film:

  • Beyond the river.
  • Inxeba (The Wound).
  • Kalushi.


There you have it!


Zeeba & Team

Images: SAFTA Twitter page.





If you think it, do it!

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,835 other subscribers

We are Social – Follow Us
%d bloggers like this: